Anti-circumcision thank you note


NOT-letter

N. sent me this beautiful note in response to reading my piece An Insight into the Danish Circumcision Debate, which was published in the Jerusalem Post 15. October 2012.

I am proud and happy to receive messages like this one. Every single one of them are treasured and help carry me through the sometimes very uncomfortable accusations of anti-Semitism, hate for Muslims etc. which are an inevitable companion to debating circumcision in Europe, where the procedure is only performed by Jewish and Muslim minorities.

Needless to say, I am not a xenophobe. In fact I simply wish to protect children from genital mutilation regardless of gender, cultural background or parents religion.

The very first time I learned, that I had actually help protect a child from circumcision was when another man from a Muslim background wrote to me about his son. Read Umut’s touching letter here. It makes me tear up every single time I read it. But hey! maybe that’s just me.

2 thoughts on “Anti-circumcision thank you note

Leave a Reply

